h1

Thank You

03/15/2010

In March of 2009, I quit blogging. The fact that every detail of my life was splattered across the internet, for absolutely anyone to see, stressed me out to no end. I had jumped into writing a blog without a clear idea of where I wanted to go with it, and wound up letting people in on a few things that I wish I had kept private.

I wrote a goodbye post, shut my blog down, and immediately started a private blog so that I could still be writing and documenting, without the worry of who was reading. I contemplated returning to a public platform several times, but I wasn’t exactly sure how to do it. I didn’t want to have to censor myself, but there are some things I am not willing to discuss on the big ol’ internet at this time in my life.

In January, after nearly a year of not writing publicly, I felt as though there was just so much I wanted to share that I wasn’t able to fit into 140 character tweets. I began contemplating making a return, figuring out what I would talk about, and what would be off limits. Once I had figured out what I was comfortable discussing this time around, I made the grand return, and I am so incredibly happy to be back.

The call I received Thursday morning completely flipped my world upside down. The days since have been hard. I don’t feel like eating, I cry, and have nightmares about the war every night. At the same time, I have been making a conscious effort to put my best foot forward. I’m smiling at strangers, surrounding myself with my best friends, laughing, and am hopefully spreading some joy. I think it is important to mourn the loss of a dear friend, but also to shine a positive light on life itself.

I want to take a second to thank each of you who left me a comment, replied to my tweets, made a phone call, and sent me an email or a text over the course of the past few days. This is why I wanted to return to blogging so badly. The support the community gives is unbelievable. I had to stay at work on Thursday after receiving the call, and it was your messages that truly got me through the day until I could go home to my loved ones.

Thank you, so very, very much.

9 comments

  1. Sorry, I think I missed that orginal post, but I’m glad you got so many great comments and texts to help you get through a tough time. You’re the best and you’ve gotten US through lots of hard times, so you deserve it.

    xoxo


  2. The start of this post made me think you were leaving again… Scary thought 🙂 Still sending my love and a big e hug. XOXO


  3. i love you, to the stars miss. i just wanted you to know.


  4. I’ve told you before I am so glad you are back, and I still am. I am sorry you are going through this right now and I have been sending positive thoughts your way since your last post. Sending you a big virtual hug right now… 🙂


  5. HUGS x a trillion.

    I’m so glad you’re blogging again, I’ve loved connecting with you through blogs and twitter. Now, considering we’re only 4 hours apart, we really need to get on this meeting thing 😉

    I love the blogosphere! It’s so amazing!! So much more then I ever could have imagined it to be!


  6. For a wordy dude, this post (and the one before) have left me with nothing to say.

    So imagine I am giving you a giant fellow Canadian* hug.

    (*Canadian hugs smell like maple syrup and involve us apologizing for no apparent reason.)


  7. I’m so glad that you’ve had so much support and that people have come out of the woodwork to say that they love and care about you. This little blogging thing is just so odd and wonderful I don’t have words for it =)


  8. I’m just now catching up to things from the last couple of weeks and I just wanted to let you know that I’m sorry to hear about your friend, and I’m here if you need me – even if you just want to launch back into email penpal love if you need a distraction 🙂


  9. You know where to find me if you need any more support or love.



Leave a Reply

