h1

Breaking Habits, Part I

03/02/2010

In the midst of the Olympic madness, which is something I will likely bring up for the next 84.9 years, I was doing a little 30 day challenge. It was Kyla who inspired me to do so, by announcing she was going vegan for the month of February. Her challenge sparked a little something in me that said, I need to change. I knew February was a ridiculous month to try anything – my days leading up to the Olympics were jam packed with work, rehearsals and training, and with the Olympics taking over the last 17 days of the month, I knew I wouldn’t be making it to the gym every day, nor would I be able to avoid eating out. I was craving positive change, but there was no way I was skipping once in a lifetime Olympic celebrations to go home and cook dinner. So, instead of something big, something that required time and planning, I decided to stop eating candy. I wasn’t giving it up to lose any weight (trust me, with the amount of alcohol consumed over the course of the Olympics, I absolutely did not lose weight). I needed to go 30 days without eating candy to break a habit.

The thing is, I work in an office and there is no one micromanaging my every move. I do what I want, when I want to do it, and as long as I get everything done by the end of the day, everyone is happy. So if I want to wander to the convenience store downstairs for Skittles, I can. And I did wander down there and do just that pretty damn often. Because the stroll allowed me to stretch my legs a bit, and the snack gave me a few minutes of entertainment. The only problem was the crash. If I had some sort of candy in the afternoon, I would come down from my little sugar high just as I was arriving home from work. And I would be tired and lazy and absolutely nothing sounded as appealing as laying down on the couch, tv remote in hand.

So, as silly as it may sound, I quit candy. And admittedly, for the first few days I actually had little conversations with myself that went something like, ‘Seriously? Stop thinking about sugar. Stop it. If you can’t make it through 30 days, you suck.’ And then I would laugh at myself, and angrily chomp on a carrot. But the good news is that I made it through February without touching candy once, and we’re a couple days into March now and I am still snacking on carrots if I want something to munch on in the afternoon.

Turns out, I feel better. It isn’t that I like the taste of carrots more than I like the taste of Sour Patch Kids, but I sure as hell am in love with the way carrots make me feel. I have energy when I get home from work. I’m happier. It was a small change, something I feel kind of ridiculous even telling anyone, but it was incredibly worth it. I’ve broken a bad habit and I no longer crave candy because I know how good I feel without it.

I have another little challenge in the works for this month, and I’ll let you know the outcome of it come April.

17 comments

  1. Good for you! I need to give up sugar in a bad way. Or just scale way down.


  2. I’ve never been big on sweets. Chips are more difficult for me, but I won’t go out and buy them for myself. If someone else has them around me though, game on!


  3. Great job! It’s so hard to break habits; I’ve gotten into the habit of eating a little too much junk again so yesterday I said enough is enough! Almost through day 2 and it hasn’t been too bad. Going to the grocery store tonight to stock up on some more fruits & veggies!


  4. I’m uh, starting a NEW habit, instead of breaking one. I call it, “Be a Grown-up and Wash Your Face Every Night.”

    I know. you’re thinking that I should have already been doing this, but…it just never seemed that important. I just hit the big 3-0, though, so I decided maybe I should take care of my face. Especially since I can’t seem to stop being fat just yet.


  5. I honestly don’t know if I could give up candy. I eat it every.single. day. I should do it. Maybe after I have the baby! Good for you. 🙂


  6. Nice job! It’s a tough one, that’s for sure. I never used to really crash too bad from sugar… but then I gave it up almost completely and was only eating organic sugars for awhile, now when I have a dessert at a restaurant I am OUT for hours.


  7. good for you, giving up candy would be a little hard for me, actually it’d have to be sweets instead of candy because i have those way more often.


  8. haha yes. When I got back someone told me it looked like I’d lost weight. HAHAHAHHAH I laughed. Because yes, the amount I drank during the Olympics definitely means I lost ZERO weight. I briefly contemplated another “dry” month, but then decided I better wean myself off the alcohol slowly…


  9. I read this and what do I do? Reach for candy. I think that means I have a problem… Ha.

    Kudos to you though for giving it up! I don’t know if I’d be able to do it…


  10. Great job! I can’t wait to hear about your next one. It’s weird, sugar doesn’t really affect me, but caffeine does. I couldn’t quit coffee, but I had to switch to decaf.


    • Oh yes, and I LOVE YOU.


  11. I used to be a candyoholic. Like practically inhaling it. But I’ve cut back in recent years. Which hasn’t always been easy – when I regress, it’s not a pretty sight.


  12. Good for you! I’ve been trying to cut candy and other junk foods out of my life for healthier things, like dried fruit. So far, it’s been interesting and halfway successful.

    I cannot wait to hear about this new challenge you’re doing!


  13. My favorite line was, “And then I would laugh at myself, and angrily chomp on a carrot.” It made me laugh. 🙂

    Way to go! I’m not much of a candy person but 3 p.m. Monday – Friday finds me craving chocolate. I usually resist but sometimes I can’t help wandering over to the frozen yogurt place next door.


  14. Hi Love! I need your e-mail addressss! Send it my way please!


  15. Good for you!

    I also have conversations with myself about similar things (we have a break room with chocolate & chips for our clients) that usually sounds like”no! don’t eat that. do not pick up a bag of chips or a piece of candy just because you can.” I’m getting better at it and like you, I notice a difference when i don’t eat it… though chocolate is often my lifeline. I probably should get over that! 🙂


  16. […] No Candy February was such a smashing success. I didn’t eat candy for the entire month, felt awesome even during the initial cravings, and when the 30 days were over, I didn’t race out to buy Skittles. As a matter of fact, I haven’t even had Skittles, or anything more than a few 5 cent candies in nearly two months. Knowing how great I feel without pouring a mess of sugar into my body kind of keeps me from wanting to do so, you know? […]



Leave a Reply

