h1

Dumbbells and Decisions

02/02/2010

In the past five years I have worked as a server, a gym attendant, a bartender, a trainer, a skating instructor, a door-to-door vacuum salesman, a marketing editor and an office manager. Oh, and I spent a short amount of time working for a tuxedo company, where I spent my days trying to drown out my two female coworkers, in hopes of not developing an eating disorder as they couldn’t go thirty seconds without talking about god damn calories.

In addition to the slew of generally unrelated jobs, I’ve taken classes in everything from tourism to broadcast journalism to personal training.

To say that my education and career choices have been a little wishy-washy would be spot on. For the past couple years, I’ve been lucky enough to have an extremely cushy job that pays the bills while I’ve been figuring out exactly what it is I want to do, career-wise. And though I love my coworkers and truly enjoy my position, spending my days in an office is not in my long term plan.

What I’m getting at is:

I am completely fine that four years out of high school, I don’t have a fancy degree to my name. Everything I have accomplished has been on my own, and I have both a resume, and a personal life that I am very proud of. At the same time, I am finally at a place in my life where I am ready to move forward, on my own terms. No more chasing someone else’s dream. No more working my ass off  for something I’m not absolutely passionate about.

So I’m jumping in:

I am an athlete. 98% of the magazines I have ever purchased have been fitness related. I have the tiniest jewelry box you’ve ever seen, but have five drawers and an entire closet devoted to workout gear, equipment and attire. I love running, skating, moving. When surrounded by dumb bells clanging and the soft hum of treadmills, I feel at home. I am no stranger to bruises, bumps and aching muscles. Last weekend I played right through a slash that caused my thumb nail to fall off. I love the way working out makes me feel, and I believe I have the determination, the tools, and the personality to spread that feeling to others.

I want to teach, to inspire, to empower.

I turn 23 on Thursday, and I have set a very solid, very realistic goal that I will be a personal trainer by the time I am 24.

20 comments

  1. Based on what I’ve learned about you so far, that sounds like a great career to pursue. Plus you have passion for what you’re doing and what you’ll be helping others to do. And that’s guy. Good luck, and enjoy the process of making this happen.


    • I’ve decided passion trumps all. Or, at least nearly all. And thank you, so much!


  2. I have no doubt that you will easily reach this goal and do great things with it. The people are waiting, Sam. Go get em.


    • Thank you, love. You’re incredible. As always.


  3. Please personal train my ass? Well, more my tummy. But you know what I mean.

    It took me five years after high school to take the plunge and go to college, because I wanted to do it on my terms. So I completely understand where you’re coming from here.


    • I. Would. Love. To!

      And props to you for doing it on your own terms as well. It is so easy to get caught up chasing dreams that aren’t even your own.


  4. Yep, you will be. And I would prefer that you move to Minneapolis to do this. Because I need you to personal train me! And just generally hang out with me day and night. 😉


    • Pretty sure you should just pack up, move here and live with me. Yes? Okay good.


  5. That is so exciting! Good for you going after your dreams!

    PS I also have a closet/dresser full of workout clothes, they are so fun to shop for!


    • Thank you!! Spandex and runners over skirts and heels ANY DAY.


  6. Can you personally train me over the internet? Cause that would be cool and I know you wouldn’t have an issue yelling at me…


    • We could like, set up video chat while you work out, and I’ll be all yelling at you through the computer? Pretty sure we’re onto something here.


  7. I love, love, love this. I know we’ve talked about stuff like this before, but it’s just so stupidly perfect for you.


    • Uhm, yes x 137581. Super stoked. Finallyyy.


  8. this sounds like an amazing goal. as much as i love being active, i’m more at home in a dance studio with an old woman yelling at me to tuck in my ass than on a treadmill. please please please train my spare tire.


    • Deal, as long as you teach me how to dance so that I can be the best in my Street Jazz class. (I’m competitive like that).


  9. look at you, goal in hand. that is awesome and i know you’ll be able to do it.


  10. Oh, lady. We are so similar. I’m still in college, & I’ll have a degree. BUT, it’s the vaguest degree in the history of college education. Interdisciplinary Communication, with an emphasis in PR AND Advertising AND Organizational Comm, with a Psych minor thrown in- for fun!? I’m a weirdo, and I completely agree. It’s awesome to have all this knowledge and it’s fun to figure out exactly what you want to be doing, for you, any way that you go about doing it.
    You? Total role model. Good luck!


  11. I have a secret desire to be a trainer too. Something tells me, though, that you’ll do it and there’s no way I will. But maybe someday you can train me! 🙂


  12. You’re blogging again! That’s awesome you’re going to become a personal trainer. And hey, I’m sure you’ve learned tons of valuable information from all those jobs and classes. You’ll see, the dots will be connected as you move along through life.



Leave a Reply

